Simplicity 3529 with design alterations

So here goes the story ………..

My friend Sheena had a bit of a fashion dilemma.  Hubby had a new job and they were due to attend his work’s Christmas party.  She wanted to look good in front of his colleagues but couldn’t find a thing to wear.

One morning she plonked a catalogue down on my desk and pointed to this dress …

tie-back+Emily+dress

tie-back+Emily+dress

“What do you think?” she asked. 

“The dress is quite nice” I replied “but I don’t think it’s your colour”.

“I’m not keen on the colour myself” she said “and I don’t really like the hem either, but it’s the only dress I’ve seen that’s anywhere near what I’m looking for”.  I spotted the price.  They want £89 for it???

So I said it. 

“I’ll make one for you” I told her “it’ll be the colour you want, the hemline you want and it’ll cost you a fraction of that one”.  I showed her Simplicity pattern 3529 and she loved it.

Misses Dresses
“The thing is” Sheena said “I’d really like it to be backless like the one in the catalogue, to show off my tattoo”.  Hmm, now this pattern doesn’t have a backless version so I was going to have to work out how best to do it.  This would be the biggest design alteration I’d made so I’d really set myself up for a  challenge.  But with a bit of help from my tutor Babs I managed it.
I created a toile first to sort out any “kinks” in my alterations (another first – I’ve never made a toile before).  Sheena and I also decided not to have a tie-back dress as the ties would just obscure her tattoo, defeating the point of having a backless dress.
Rosebuds - close up
Rear of dress
For more pics click here 
Leave a Reply

