Can anybody help me?

I’ve just consigned my latest project to the bin!

I decided to make the high-waisted straight skirt from the free pattern in issue 4 of “Sew” magazine.  I checked the size guide in the magazine and decided to make the 14 as it gave the size to be 28″ waist and 38.75″ hips.  A little snug for me but figured I could let it out a little.

To cut a long story short, after stitching the back to the front I tried it on for fit.  It was WAY too big!  I did try taking in the side seams but I had to alter them so much the shape of the skirt didn’t look right.  In frustration I unpicked the zip and threw the rest of it in the bin.

So, is it the pattern or is it me?  Normally I would measure the pattern pieces before cutting out because from experience I know that the envelope back isn’t always accurate.  Annoyingly, I couldn’t this time as the pattern didn’t show any waist or hip placement markings and the pattern didn’t mention how high on the waist the skirt was meant to sit.

I will attempt this skirt again and just cut it to a smaller size, but if anyone has any tips on how to measure a pattern without the markings I would be really greatful.  Sew magazine gives fab free patterns with every issue but it looks as though they all have this same little problem.

Leave a Reply

